International Carnival of Positivities

Was up at Mshairi’s blog for April. Take a look.

For May will be at Mark’s site.

I had promised to contribute. Here’s an old poem for a now-(I hate euphemisms, but I understand what they allow). Let’s just say for a friend. You will understand.

For G

I had been looking for you and when you did not
show, the leaves changed their patterns, losing their
vibrancy in an unexpected deluge

What falls and cannot be un-broken

I find you beautiful, also, a suitable addition to my
collection of mummified love objects

When you said you researched images of AIDS, I
wondered if you played echo or narcissus

But line figures keep obscuring my vision, refusing
to grant me the sanctity of maleness,

Men, you see, have lateral placing, which means
astigmatism bends gender

The tragedy of going blind

I wanted to play Tiresius but you kept drawing me
to Dionysus, so we compromised that vestal virgins
might be interesting, if overrated

I confess to being envious of your beauty, your
colossus-like stride, even as I patched your broken
toe

Blushes and Giggles

Something quiet passes between us, my fear of
intimacy, my desire for infection, the unspoken,
unconsummated

You stopped writing and I keep waiting, living
between love and obsession

To remember, in perfect sentences

© Keguro Macharia, 2008

4 thoughts on “International Carnival of Positivities

  1. Aaah, Keguro, I am partly to blame as I should have reminded you about the Carnival’s deadline.

    I like the poem (hope you can contribute another to another carnival)

  2. I havent been here for ages (i came via this months ICP) and found this ever so beautiful poem –

    “I had been looking for you and when you did not
    show, the leaves changed their patterns, losing their
    vibrancy in an unexpected deluge”

    I feel sad reading this, sad at all the lost lovers, relationships……aaaish

Comments are closed.