What I’m Reading, Update

Still with Cooper and Kanogo and Levine and Baucom, finished some, added others.

William Germano, From Dissertation to Book (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2005)

Dennis Brutus, Letters to Martha and Other Poems (Nairobi: Heinemann, 1968)

James Baldwin, Nobody Knows My Name (New York: Vintage, 1961)

Regina Kunzel, Criminal Intimacy: Prison and the Uneven History of Modern American Sexuality (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2008)

Thadious Davis, Nella Larsen: Novelist of the Harlem Renaissance (Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1994).

I read A LOT of books out of U Chicago P, like all queer scholars, and, I think, the shift, if there’s one, is definitely toward U.S. focused books. I have to admit, though, something interesting happens during intellectual frottage and I’m thinking through Larsen alongside Jean Davison and Tabitha Kanogo, all of whom address black women’s modernity.